All News Releases

United States Department of Agriculture | Disaster Declaration for 4 Texas Counties

Farm Service Agency Texas State FSA Office 
2405 Texas Avenue South 
College Station, TX 77840

Secretarial Disaster Declaration S5240

On July 25, 2022, the Secretary of Agriculture designated 4 Texas counties as primary natural disaster areas. This action is based on damages and losses caused by Drought (Fast Track) occurring July 19, 2022 and continuing. The primary counties are:

  • Burleson             
  • Fayette
  • Liberty 
  • Washington

In addition to the above counties, 19 other Texas counties are named as contiguous where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance, pursuant to section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act. Those counties are:

  • Austin  
  • Bastrop
  • Brazos  
  • Caldwell              
  • Chambers          
  • Colorado             
  • Gonzales
  • Grimes
  • Hardin  
  • Harris   
  • Jefferson            
  • Lavaca  
  • Lee        
  • Milam
  • Montgomery    
  • Polk      
  • Robertson          
  • San Jacinto         
  • Waller                  

This designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

EM Loan applications will be received through March 27, 2023 for production and physical losses.

If you are interested or have questions, contact:

USDA Service Center
10808 Huffmeister Rd
Houston TX 77065
PH: (281) 469-7856
Hrs:  8:00 am – 4:30 pm  Mon-Fri

TXFLP_1371 signed_Page_1.png

TXFLP_1371 signed_Page_2.png

TXFLP_1371 signed_Page_3.png